Royal Lytham Golf Club

Royal Lytham Golf Club "the British Open Golf Championship 2012"

 The Cottage is located approx 5 mins drive from the world famous  Royal Lytham Golf Course.   




The British Open History.

The British Open is golf’s oldest national championship and the only one of the majors that is played outside the USA. First held in October, 1860, The Open was mostly played in Scotland during its early years.
Prestwick Golf Club was the birthplace of the event, which saw just eight players compete in its inaugural year.
The following year, the tournament was declared open to the whole world and the event has been known simply as The Open ever since.
By the turn of the century The British Open was being held at more and more courses and in 1923 it was held at Troon for the first time, the venue for this year’s event.
Since those early days, the Royal and Ancient Golf Club has established a rota of seaside courses to host the event.
It means the Open has a unique links-course character among the majors.
The biggest obstacles facing the players are the wind and the bunkers – and it certainly makes for some thrilling competitions.
Originally, the winner of the tournament was awarded a red, Morocco leather belt embellished with a silver buckle.
But in 1870 Tom Morris completed a trio of victories and was given the belt to keep.
That left the championship without a trophy – although The Open was not staged in 1871, and only a standard medal was issued a year later.
It wasn’t until 1873 that the famous Claret Jug trophy was commissioned and presented to the winner for the first time.
The British Open Honours
Most Victories
6 – Harry Vardon, 1896, ’98, ’99, 1903, ’11, ’14
Second-Place Finishes
7 – Jack Nicklaus, 1964, ’67, ’68, ’72, ’76, ’77, ’79
Largest Margin of Victory
13 strokes – Old Tom Morris, 1862
Lowest Winning Scores
267 – Greg Norman, Royal St George’s, 1993
Lowest Rounds
63 – Mark Hayes, 2nd round Turnberry, 1977
Oldest Winners
Old Tom Morris, 1867, 46 years 99 days
Youngest Winners
Young Tom Morris, 1868, 17 years 5 months 8 days
Most Consecutive Wins
4, Young Tom Morris, 1868-72 (tournament not played in 1871)
Most Top-5 Finishes
16 – J.H Taylor, Jack Nicklaus
Wire-to-Wire Winners
Ted Ray, 1912; Bobby Jones, 1927; Gene Sarazen, 1932; Henry Cotton, 1934; Tom Weiskopf, 1973